Satsang Exam Overview


As part of the Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha's multifarious socio-spiritual activities, Satsang Examinations have been playing a fundamental role in enriching and enlightening thousands of devotees, young and old, with the knowledge of Vedic, cultural and Satsang values. Once the dream of Yogiji Maharaj, was transformed into a reality by H.D.H. Pramukh Swami Maharaj. This activity both spiritually and intellectually encompassing has spread vastly since 1972.


The Satsang Examinations started with just 56 centers at its inception in 1972. Today it has exponentially grown and spread to 1550 centers globally. Thus far, 500,000 people have appeared for the annual twelve-tiered Satsang exams.


The first exam, Bal Satsang-1, caters to children and over a period of twelve years ultimately culminates to Pragna-3, which is equivalent to the post-graduate level. The examinations are prepared, administered, and scored with strict academic standards and disciplines. The exams in India are held annually in July whereas in the overseas centers such as USA, Canada, UK, Europe, Far East, Australia, New Zealand, Middle East and Africa conduct the exams in March each year.


The exam papers are offered in three different languages: Gujarati, Hindi and English.

Exam Schedule

  • India: The exams are held annually on every 1st or 2nd Sunday of July.
  • Overseas: The exams are held annually on the 1st Sunday of March. A practice pre-test for each level is posted on the site starting January that can be downloaded.

Special Instructions For Pragna Exam Candidates

After passing the Pravin Satsang exam, candidates are eligible to move forward to the Pragna Satsang exams. This postgraduate level course comprises of Pragna 1, Pragna 2 and Pragna 3. Each exam has two parts: Paper 1 and Paper 2. Candidates can appear for both papers in the same year or sit for them over two separate years - a maximum of 1 years apart. Thus, if a candidate appears for Paper 1 in year 1, and passes, he must take Paper 2 by second year.

Candidates who take the Pragna Exam papers 1 & 2 separately must score a minimum of 45% in each of the papers to pass. Paper 2 can only be taken if Paper 1 has been successfully completed.

Candidates who take for both papers in the same year must score a minimum total of 45% to pass. Pragna exam completion certificate is awarded when the examinee successfully completes both papers.


Exams Books Passing Marks
Prarambh Ghanshyam Charitra 45/100
  Yogiji Maharaj  
  Kishore Satsang Prarambha  
Pravesh Nilkanth Charitra 68/150
  Satsang Reader Part-1  
  Kishore Satsang Pravesh  
  Shastriji Maharaj  
Parichay Sahajanand Charitra 68/150
  Satsang Reader Part-2  
  Kishore Satsang Parichay  
  Pragji Bhakta  
Pravin Akshar Purushottam Upasana 90/200
  Satsang Reader Part-3  
  Kishore Satsang Pravin  
  Gunatitanand Swami  
  Yug Vibhuti Pramukh Swami Maharaj  

Grading Scheme

70% or above Distinction
60 - 69% First class
45 - 59% Second class
44% or below Fail